How do I override the total hours of a student’s Weekly Log?

If you have been in a situation where your student incorrectly inputted their shift hours and you had to manually fix each and every one of the shifts, then this feature is perfect for you. Our Total Hour Override feature allows teachers to quickly change a student’s total hours for a weekly log without having to worry about monotonously fixing each incorrect shift. To override a student’s hours, please complete the following steps:
1. Go to your Placement Dashboard and click on the desired student

2. Click on the edit link next to the incorrect Weekly Log

3. Scroll down to the Total Hours and click on the pencil icon

total_hours

4. Type in the correct total hours

5. Click save

How do I only view weekly logs from the current term?

To view weekly logs for a specific term, please complete the following steps:
1. In your Placement Dashboard, select student

2. Select the Semester from the drop-down

3. Search (click on the green magnifying glass icon)

weeklylog_faq2

Similarly, the Semester filter on the Reflections Dashboard allows you to filter reflections by semester.

weeklylog_faq

Having trouble with the progress bar counting hours from previous terms? Please click here for instructions on how to reset the progress bar.

What to do when a student adds placement hours to the wrong dashboard?

We don’t have an easy mechanism for hours to be transferred over from the Volunteer Dashboard. We encourage students to copy the information over to the Placement Dashboard.

In order to prevent this issue from happening,  students can set their default dashboard to the Placement Dashboard via their Account Settings. Instructions on how to do this can be found here.

Teachers can also remove access to the Volunteer Dashboard so that it does not appear for students at all. To do so, a teacher must visit their Access page (Summary section) and click on the check mark under the Volunteer column. That turns the check mark into an ‘x’. Once complete, students will no longer be able to view the Volunteer Dashboard. This will prevent students from accidentally adding their Placement hours to the wrong dashboard.

How do I view current and previous student weekly logs?

To locate specific student logs/placement hours, please complete the following steps:

  1. Go to the Placement dashboard
  2. Click on the name of the desired student
  3. Once you’re on the student profile, there will be a Semester option under Add Hours
  4. Click on the drop-down menu and select the appropriate option                                 semester
  5. Lastly, please click on unnamed to filter the logs/hours

Now only logs/hours from that term will appear on the student’s profile.

NOTE: We never delete logs/hours just in case they need to be accessed again.

Why can’t my student view my Reflection Topic?

The two most probable reasons why your student can’t view the reflection topic are:

  1. The End Date for the topic has passed

Check the End Dates for your Reflection Topics to see if the date has passed. If so, then this is the problem and it can be solved by changing the End Date of the topic to a later date.

  1. The student is linked to a different school

To check if a student is linked to a different school, go to that student’s weekly logs and see if their logs appear. If you cannot view them then this is the issue. You can also check which school your student is linked to by viewing your student’s Settings (click here to see how to do so). This issue can be solved by having the student update their school in their Settings.

If neither of these reasons appear to be the cause of the problem, email us at info [@] charityrepublic.com and we’ll look into it for you.

How do I access a student’s settings?

Student settings contain information such as student name, OEN, school, and email. Teachers can view a student’s settings via the Access page, Placement Dashboard, and Volunteer Dashboard. All three methods show the same information; they represent different ways to access student settings.

To view a student’s settings via the Access page:

How do I access Student Settings

  1. Click on your name in the top right corner
  2. Select Access from the drop-down menu to visit your Access page (the page shown in the screenshot)
  3. On the student Summary page, all students are listed
    • Note: You can access student Settings from the other menus by following these steps too
  4. (Optional) Search for the name of the student you are interested in
  5. Click on the student’s name and you will be taken to their Settings page

To view a student’s settings via the Placement Dashboard, you:

  1. Search for and select the name of a student to view their placement profile
  2. Select “Student Settings” (outlined in green below) volunteer settings
  3. You will be redirected to the student’s Settings page which contains information about their placement dashboard
  4. To access other information in their settings such as Email or OEN, click on the Account button on the left side of the screen (shown below)

tabs

To view a student’s settings via the Volunteer Dashboard, you:

  1. Search for and select the name of a student to view their volunteer profile
  2. Select “Student Settings” (outlined in green below) volunteer settings
  3. You will be redirected to the student’s Settings page

 

 

How do I access past placement information?

Teachers can access the placement information of past placement students by providing them with access to the Placement Dashboard, if access was removed (if you need a reminder on how to do so, click here) and then linking themselves to the student in question. These students will then appear on the teacher’s Placement Dashboard and their past placement information can be viewed, with access to relevant reports, etc.

Providing Student Access to the Placement Dashboard

Q: How do I provide my students with access to the Placement Dashboard?

A: If a student does not have access to the Placement Dashboard automatically, then teachers can provide access manually.

1) Visit your Access page and search for the student(s) you are providing access for via the search bar or alphabetically (if you are having trouble locating a particular student(s), make sure Status, Grade, and Semester are set to “All” in the filters).

This can be completed via the Summary or Co-op sections of the Access page.

2) Under the Placement (Co-op) column, the student will either have an x or a check mark. The check mark indicates that a student has access to the Placement Dashboard while the x means they currently do not have access.

placement2

 

3) Click the x to provide a student access and it will turn into a check mark.

placement

 

Q: How do I remove access to the Placement Dashboard? 

A: Follow steps 1 and 2 above. Then, click the check mark and it will change it into an x, indicating that the student no longer has access to the Placement Dashboard.

Individual Student Hour Report

Individual Student Summary Reports

In order to run and print a report on an individual student:

  • Select a student (hover over name of student listed and click)
  • Click the Hours Report button to load a PDF report
  • Save or print a PDF summary report of hours

Teachers can also run and print off a report of individual activities:

  • Select a student (hover over name of student listed and click)
  • Select a specific activity or log by clicking on Edit
  • Click Download Hours Report

NOTE: Click here to review how to  download summary reports for all students.